Nature’s snare drums.

I was walking a dog today who was so joyful to be out in all of the deep snow leaping and bounding – she’d dive head first into the snow just inhaling the pure joy of the moment. It was blissfully peaceful – the sound of the wind through the dead grasses, sounded like nature’s snare drums.

About that time I heard the honking of geese and several flocks flew over my head – they were beautiful, even in their tardy action.

I was reminded that the most precious things in life are free, yet, I’ve paid dearly for love.

Geese always remind me of Mary Oliver’s poem, Wild Geese is one of her more popular ones – life needs more poetry.

Wild Geese
by Mary Oliver

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
for a hundred miles through the desert repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.

4 Responses to “Nature’s snare drums.”

  1. God, but I love Mary Oliver. I’m beginning to think that we’re soul mates. This poem is utterly and completely perfect for a friend of mine that I am seeing later today. Thanks.

    Amy Steinberg too…you mentioned her a few posts down I think. Her song, Exactly, has been played roughly eight million times in my house – sometimes on repeat for an hour at a time. It’s sanity in music for me.

    Speaking of music – have you heard “keep breathing” by Ingrid Michaelson? Heard in her concert earlier this week with Indigo Girls, Brandi Carlile and KT Tunstall. That’s the song on continuous repeat right now. Thought you might like it.

    You’ve got good taste chica 🙂

    j.

  2. If not soulmates – then perhaps we both just have really good taste. Mary Oliver is one of my favorite poets along with e.e. cummings. Her work is scholarly yet accessible, simple and yet profound.

    All of that said I’ll have to google Ingrid Michaelson and no I have not heard her song “keep breathing” – sounds like a good idea though imagine the alternative.

    Off to make more cookies and brew over some thoughts I will blog about later on today.

    Thank you dear for the compliments.

    Peace-
    MLC

  3. Well, obviously the good taste goes without saying Clearly, we both have utterly fabulous taste 🙂

    Keep breathing is def. my motto for today…somedays thats as much as I can manage…

    j.

  4. Well it’s not easy – I have been in your place (minus the marriage and children) even when my choices affected merely myself they were profound. Life promises to show us great joy and life promises to break our hearts too.

    The trick is to live through your pain and grow bigger (not bitter) and you will.

    Her voice reminds me a bit of Jane Siberry – I definately like it. Thanks.

    You know you can write anytime we don’t have to do this through the comments section (but I don’t mind that either).
    Mid-Life Clarity

Leave a Reply

