Offerings…a beautiful gift.

Ann sent me a beautiful book today “Offerings” Buddhist wisdom for every day. It’s just inspiring in terms of the text, as well as the lovely photography of the Tibetan people. I shall use it as a vehicle to keep myself on course with my life and on track with my blog. Each day I’ll at least post a photograph I have taken along with an excerpt in the book.

I feel very remiss when I am not getting something posted on the blog – – and it’s busted loose here for me, in regards to my training business. Now I am working seven days a week and teaching classes six of those days. All work and no play…leaves one dull blog.

And play of course includes playing with words and posting here. And thanks again for the comments – I’m grateful for each one and plan to get to responding (even to the dog training question).

But for now from Offerings…

Terrible or not, difficult or not, the only thing that is beautiful, noble, religious and mystical is to be happy. -Arnoud Desjardins

And those lines remind me of some from a poem by Mary Oliver, “happiness when it’s done right is a kind of holiness”

Poppies

The poppies send up their
orange flares; swaying
in the wind, their congregations
are a levitation

of bright dust, of thin
and lacy leaves.
There isn’t a place
in this world that doesn’t

sooner or later drown
in the indigos of darkness,
but now, for a while,
the roughage

shines like a miracle
as it floats about everything
with its yellow hair.
Of course nothing stops the cold,

black, curving blade
from hooking forward-
of course
loss is a great lesson.

But also I say this: that light
is an invitation
to happiness,
and that happiness,

when it’s done right,
is a kind of holiness,
palpable and redemptive.
Inside the bright fields,

touched by their rough and spongy gold,
I am washed and washed
in the river
of earthly delight-

and what are you going to do-
what can you do
about it-
deep, blue night?

4 Responses to “Offerings…a beautiful gift.”

  1. sigh….i love it when you give me a little bit of Mary.

    “of course
    loss is a great lesson.

    But also I say this: that light
    is an invitation
    to happiness,
    and that happiness,

    when it’s done right,
    is a kind of holiness”

    Yeah. Yeah that.

  2. Old Crone Says:

    I just left you a comment, and it was eaten by the blogspot demon. Anyway, I love the poem, I grew up near the poppy fields in So Cal. I love them. Making a commitment to blog on a regular basis is a great thing, I know, I feel better when I’m posting, at least until the mad blog readers get tired of my ramblings..:)

  3. Hahn at Home Says:

    I recommend any of the Pema Chodron books. Lovely.

  4. Mary Oliver is such a profound gift to literature — I want to move to Provincetown and follow her around. (not the same as stalking) Her poems are so profound and yet accessible.

    And Pema Chodron too, is a wonderful spiritual guide. There is a nice interview with her in O Magazine this month. Her books are jammed into the overcrowded cases in my living room.

Leave a Reply

