Away From Her

Away From Her is a touching film about Alzheimer’s Disease – it stars Julie Christie as Fiona who suffers from the disease and her husband is played by actor Gordon Pinsent.

The acting and especially the writing are so poignant. I had to stop the film to write down the following lines. He has taken his wife to the care facility and says “Fiona don’t leave me, I don’t like it here”.

Fiona replies…”I don’t think we should be looking for something we like, all we can aspire to in a situation like this, is to find a little grace”.

“I don’t think we should be looking for something to like, all we can aspire to in a situation like this, is to find a little grace”.

I look at the lines on the notepaper that I stopped the film to write down. I read them again, and again, and again – finally realizing they reflect how I am feeling tonight.

I aspire for grace — I miss her. I don’t like being away from her, I don’t like it here.

Hmmm – life throws messages round and round you, you pick them up and carry them, or the wind blows them back and back at you.

“An endless sea of endless dreams that wheel and roll just past my shoulder.” – Jane Siberry.

Next time I have my hands on something real, I’m going to cling a little tighter to the grace, the joy, of that moment. Grace can be hard to find.

3 Responses to “Away From Her”

  1. Old Crone Says:

    Wow..just wow! There are some lines in movies that just take you by storm. There are two off the top of my head, “Grand Canyon” and “How to make an American Quilt”, I’d have to watch them both again to give you the details, but sometimes, it’s life’s answers really are at the movies…

  2. Anonymous Says:

    MLC, I think you are showing plenty of grace already. I mean, I don’t know you in real life or anything…but from the blog posts I read here, you seem to be moving through your life with courage and grace. Maybe you could consider giving yourself a break here and there and not being so hard on yourself. Just my two cents!

    I do relate, though, to the feeling that “next time I will appreciate what I have.” I shudder at times when I reflect on how immature I have acted at times in the past. I can’t believe that was really me! But, alas, it was me. I think what we have to do is to go on and to keep trying. A professor in college told our class once that “man is a questing animal and life is about the quest.” That phrase has stayed with me all these years, and I fully agree with his assessment.

    Oh, one more thing: I really like your photographs. I could look at snow, trees, mountains, and clouds all day long. I often have my eyes on the sky when I walk my dog. I have seen some really cool stuff that way; hopefully I won’t get hit by a car one day!

    Sheryl

  3. Thank you – thank you both for your comments.

    One of my favorite movies is Off The Map, I watch it over and over again.

    And I am not being so hard on myself, as I am being honest and authentic with myself. It is hard but as I get older, I am finding it much harder to not be honest and authentic.

    Peace-
    Janet

Leave a Reply

