Our Good Bodies…

She kept groaning out “you’re so fucking hot” over and over and my head left the moment. I left, not literally but I left because it was over the top. Not literally over the top (well at times but I digress). But I flipped, left the building as I have not thought of myself that way, say it to me and I tend to not believe you. I try to have a good self image and am finally getting there – that place where you feel good about your body, attractive…it has only taken 45 years.

Having said that – when I first read Eve Ensler’s brilliant book “The Good Body” – I finished it, started over and the next day went to the bookstore to buy six or more copies. It became a gift for everyone who mattered to me, empowerment in a slim little volume.

I read blogs (lots of them) and I hear us attacking ourselves, how we look, how our bodies work or do not work. We are at war with our physical selves, instead of in a place of gratitude and peace. I think of my niece a beautiful young girl with anorexia – I grow very sad.

Here’s a passage from “The Good Body” may it inspire you to be grateful, to be at peace, make good choices (too many of us queer folk spend our lives addicted to destructive behavior) – or to just go buy the damn book, then buy a dozen more copies…and spread it around.

peace-
j.
(you are all so fucking hot)

*********
From the chapter entitled “Leah”

Leah, a 74 year old African Masai Woman

Leah: Do I like my body? Do I like my body? My body. My body. I love my body. God made this body. God gave me this body. My body. Oh goodness, I love my body. My fingers, look at my fingers. I love my fingernails, little crescent moons. My hands, my hands, the way they flutter in the air and fall, they lead right up to my arms- so strong-they carry things along- I love my arms – and my legs, my legs are long, Masai people, we are tall, I get there fast, my legs can wrap around a man and hold him there. My breasts…My breasts, well look at them, they’re mine, my breasts still round and full and fine.

Eve: Leah, wait, I don’t know how to do this. I want to feel like you. I want to love my body and stop hating my stomach.

Leah: What’s wrong with it?

Eve: It’s round. It used to be flat.

Leah: It’s your stomach. It’s meant to be seen. Eve, look at that tree? Do you see that tree? Now look at that tree. (points to another tree) Do you like that tree? Do you hate that tree ’cause it doesn’t look like that tree?

Do you say the tree isn’t pretty ’cause it doesn’t look like that tree? We’re all trees. You’re a tree. I’m a tree. You’ve got to love your body, Eve. You’ve got to love your tree. Love your tree.

3 Responses to “Our Good Bodies…”

  1. margaret Says:

    Nice. A good reminder that our bodies are beautiful even when we convince ourselves that they are not. Have you read Ensler’s Insecure at Last? That book is one of my favorites.

  2. i’m going to find a copy of the book 🙂
    j.

  3. YES – I have read Insecure At Last and think I’ve even shared some excerpts from it on this blog. I did quite a bit of manic typing and sharing excerpts from that book…fabulous, thought provoking, smart.

    j.

Leave a Reply

