Daily Poetics

I found a blog that I enjoy — it’s called Daily Poetics and on the blog I read the following quote…

A poem is a little myth of man’s capacity of making life meaningful. And in the end, the poem is not a thing we see – it is, rather, a light by which we may see – and what we see is life. – Robert Penn Warren

I think that is exquisitely beautiful artists in their own mediums showing us a view of life, that universal experience we are all having whilst we are feeling isolated and alone.

A poem for a Tuesday.

A Journey, Nikki Giovanni

It’s a journey…that I propose…I am not the guide…nor
technical assistant…I will be your fellow passenger…

Though the rail has been ridden…winter clouds cover…
autumn’s exhuberant quilt…we must provide our own guide-
posts…

I have heard…from previous visitors…the road washes out
sometimes…and passengers are compelled…to continue
groping…or turn back…I am not afraid…

I am not afraid…of rough spots…or lonely times…I don’t
fear…the success of this endeavor…I am Ra…in a
space…not to be discovered…but invented…

I promise you nothing…I accept your promise…of the same
we are simply riding…a wave…that may carry…or crash…

It’s a journey…and I want…to go…


I think that is a beautiful love letter and you can send it to another, to yourself, scribe it on the wall and simply embrace this miracle that we have all been given for another moment, another day, another forever, however long or brief. Life.

Enjoy the ride – promise to be present.

Peace-
Janet

2 Responses to “Daily Poetics”

  1. I love that poem! I promise!

    Also, love the new banner!

  2. I do too – yeah I look pretty hot in that banner don’t I? gggg.

    That photo spread was in Self and it hit the scanner about as fast as I found the pages in the magazine.

    I do think it’s a beautiful photograph of a strong woman.

    j.

Leave a Reply

