The Desert I am creating…

I love the desert and the writing of Terry Tempest Williams. In part I am sure because she lives in Utah and writes from that place in herself. In any case I dream about living in the desert. Realized the other day in the studio that I love clay as it is so elemental, essentially dirt and too that I have been recreating the desert in what I am doing. In fact right now (and I don’t have any photos) I am making what I call “canyon vases” as they remind of of slot canyons. My plans are to burnish the pieces and then pit fire them in my backyard.

A reasonable suburban activity right? – ahhh yeah, until the township arrives I am burning pots in a metal barrel. At least until M.F. and I move to Santa Fe or Taos.

This is a quote from Williams which really summarizes why I love the desert so much and also describes who I am now and how I would like to live my life – the relationships I have to people, place and things.

“Moving to the redrock country of southern Utah has been a great gift for both Brooke and me. It is a much slower pace. We live in a landscape where rocks tell time differently. Time and space. In the desert, there is space. Space is the twin sister of time. If we have open space, then we have time to breath, to dream, to dare, to create, to play, to pray, to move freely, so freely. This is the landscape of the imagination. You can hear yourself think in the desert. I have become completely addicted to stillness. I am not so easily seduced by speed. I find I just can’t move so quickly in the world. It’s the silence. This deep, resonate silence. Very humbling.”

One Response to “The Desert I am creating…”

  1. You know, it’s funny about the desert. I have sort of a love/hate relationship with it. I grew up in the high desert of So Cal, and I do see the beauty in it. I love the hot summer desert nights. There is a lot I don’t like, mainly the heat. That being said, I love New Mexico with a passion, and have been there many many times. I remember driving through an area of AZ once, that I knew was a place I had been before, if that makes sense. Also, although I’ve spent a great deal of time in the deserts of SO Utah, I really have a hard time being in UT. The desert is a magical place, as well as a desolate place. I love the foods from the desert. But I am a water baby, I have been since I was born, which is probably why I bolted for the sea the first chance I got. Great post as always Janet!

Leave a Reply

