Welcome Hippies, Gypsies, Queers and everyone else too…


I was watching a fascinating interview on Oprah.com last night, part of her soul series. One thing I remember was this fact from a neuroscientist — our dna, genetic makeup is over 99% the same. The difference between you and I is less than 1%.

Yet we seem to focus on that less then 1% – that which separates us and makes us different. Are you black, white, red? Catholic, Jew, Muslim? Straight, Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual? Are you tall, short? Male/female?

Sad. And I would like to live in an inclusive, not exclusive world. So if I want an inclusive world then I can’t operate in exclusive ways. I grew up in a conservative, prejudiced household as a child I was suspicious of clubs, church, politics – hell I even walked out on the girl scouts.

I want to live in a world of fuzzy edges and blurred lines, one without labels and roles. To quote Andrea Gibson “let’s name our children beautiful and nothing else”. Or to quote myself “nothing less than human, nothing more”. We are the same, not different and if we could focus on the 99% that we have in common – we would not be at war, we’d have equal rights, we’d not have hatred – we’d live in a world with more love and compassion.

So thinking about all of that I have felt really fractured with my blog, this blog — or perhaps it has always been a scattering and a smattering of things. It is going to remain that way or grow even less focused. More inclusive and less exclusive.

I don’t want to write a queer blog, I want to write about whatever I am thinking about when I am thinking about it. I don’t want 99 different blogs for every facet of myself or interest I have. My sexuality does influence what I read, my art. What I read influences my sexuality – and it’s all a part of who I am. It’s a part of who you are – it’s a part of who we all are.

So with that said – I have put out a new welcome mat. Welcome hippies, gypsies, queers and everyone else. My blog roll now better reflects who I am and what I read and I am just going to roll it all out – the personal, the professional and the recreational.

peace-
janet

One Response to “Welcome Hippies, Gypsies, Queers and everyone else too…”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I read “My Stroke of Insight” in one sitting – I couldn’t put it down. I laughed. I cried. It was a fantastic book (I heard it’s a NYTimes Bestseller and I can see why!), but I also think it will be the start of a new, transformative Movement! No one wants to have a stroke as Jill Bolte Taylor did, but her experience can teach us all how to live better lives. Her TED.com speech was one of the most incredibly moving, stimulating, wonderful videos I’ve ever seen. Her Oprah Soul Series interviews were fascinating. They should make a movie of her life so everyone sees it. This is the Real Deal and gives me hope for humanity.

Leave a Reply

