The Same People…

I have always enjoyed the writing of Anna Quindlen so I was delighted to run across this article in Newsweek.

The Same People
Scream, shout, jump up and down. No matter. The gay-marriage issue is over and done with. The upshot: love won. You can read the article here.

And it is the politics of the individual that are going to change society not from the top down but from the bottom up – one person at at time committing to living peacefully and mindfully. Young people and youthful ideas will save us.

This is a historic year in terms of our election and while I was hoping for Hillary Clinton to gain the nomination as she is the most qualified for the job, most able to hit the ground running – we have another candidate. And I’ll vote for him, as I vote democratic period. Perhaps we can move forward now, a united party, with a candidate for the white house — or maybe the media coverage will grow even uglier.

I will say I don’t miss my television set or television. I don’t miss CNN, or Fox, or… But I am so uninformed? NO. All the media was informing me of was how sexist, racist and homophobic a society we still live in. Turn on the idiot box, turn up one’s bloodpressure- turn down one’s brain activity.

But still I believe in the individual and peace starts at home, with oneself and it spirals out until we have peace in the world.

“It’s painful to face how we harm others, and it takes a while. It’s a journey that happens because of our commitment to gentleness and honesty, our commitment to staying awake, to being mindful.” -Pema Chodron

So find peace in your day, in every step you take —

janet

3 Responses to “The Same People…”

  1. I really enjoy reading your blog. Just wanted to let you know it.

  2. I’ll vote for Obama as well. I, too, was a big Clinton supporter. I just thought her health care ideas were far superior to his.

    Bing thinks that she might get the veep position. I somehow doubt it. And I find that a pity as I think she is an able politician and can engineer some of those big changes that Obama wants but has yet to put concrete around.

  3. glued blue glass Says:

    Yes, it all starts with us.

Leave a Reply

