Sunday rambles…

Slowly she wakes but I feel very peaceful this morning – amazing what a day off will do. (yesterday was the first day I’ve taken off in over 12 weeks) Having said that, I do realize I need more and will plan to take a week off around the 4th – I won’t have classes that week as I have no access to the building I use.

Storms have been rolling through mid-Michigan. Strong winds, funnel clouds, heavy rains. When I headed over to the bakery this morning I saw many large limbs and trees down in the neighborhood-I am grateful to not have any damage. I sit in a very small house surrounded by trees that are hundreds of years old and hope they are strong and firmly rooted.

Listening to Natalia Zukerman’s cd “Only One” – one really does need to give her music a listen. Lovely, smart lyrics with many layers of meaning and fantastic guitar skills. Finishing up the coffee and having an apple turnover.

Well why not?! Quantum health has not arrived yet and until then let the shiraz flow, let the pantry be full of asiago cheese bread, as well as cinnamon spice bread (great for grilled cheese with cheddar and sliced apples). I am wondering how I will ever live without bread or sugar for 21 days…the other things don’t worry me in the least. A month without dead cows or birds? Not a problem, fine by me.

I can’t imagine a day, a week, 21 DAYS without bread?!!! (maybe I’ll cancel my order)

Seems I will not be going out as I had hoped, as _______ will be in Europe for over seven weeks. That or it’s a nice way of telling me “no thanks”. The thrill of an interest was a welcome change. Time travels on.

Have spent the last two evenings carving linoleum blocks, it did bring back memories of art class and it brought to mind how I have always been happiest making art (or at least attempting to do so). Considering returning to school for my M.F.A. or perhaps pursue as associates degree in photography from the community college. The discipline of attendance to classes will keep me on track whereas left to my own devices well I wander (and often not in a progressive direction). But I am responding to my callings and missing as little as possible.

I don’t want to say “I missed my calling, I should’ve, why didn’t I?…” Rather I am learning to say “no” and perhaps even harder to say “YES” to those things I do wish to pursue.

Where was I? ah the block prints, they are going to be stamped into some clay at the studio this week in preparation for decorative tiles. (I’ll take a photograph of them later or of the finished product).

Now before it gets too humid, oh it may already be but regardless she walks the dogs, she gathers her gym clothes for the gym, she returns to eat lunch…three classes this afternoon.

The work resumes, the day is calling, my head is full of beautiful music sung by lovely women – time to slowly go, ease into my day.

Hope yours is equally peaceful-
janet

Leave a Reply

Sunday rambles…

Slowly she wakes but I feel very peaceful this morning – amazing what a day off will do. (yesterday was the first day I’ve taken off in over 12 weeks) Having said that, I do realize I need more and will plan to take a week off around the 4th – I won’t have classes that week as I have no access to the building I use.

Storms have been rolling through mid-Michigan. Strong winds, funnel clouds, heavy rains. When I headed over to the bakery this morning I saw many large limbs and trees down in the neighborhood-I am grateful to not have any damage. I sit in a very small house surrounded by trees that are hundreds of years old and hope they are strong and firmly rooted.

Listening to Natalia Zukerman’s cd “Only One” – one really does need to give her music a listen. Lovely, smart lyrics with many layers of meaning and fantastic guitar skills. Finishing up the coffee and having an apple turnover.

Well why not?! Quantum health has not arrived yet and until then let the shiraz flow, let the pantry be full of asiago cheese bread, as well as cinnamon spice bread (great for grilled cheese with cheddar and sliced apples). I am wondering how I will ever live without bread or sugar for 21 days…the other things don’t worry me in the least. A month without dead cows or birds? Not a problem, fine by me.

I can’t imagine a day, a week, 21 DAYS without bread?!!! (maybe I’ll cancel my order)

Seems I will not be going out as I had hoped, as _______ will be in Europe for over seven weeks. That or it’s a nice way of telling me “no thanks”. The thrill of an interest was a welcome change. Time travels on.

Have spent the last two evenings carving linoleum blocks, it did bring back memories of art class and it brought to mind how I have always been happiest making art (or at least attempting to do so). Considering returning to school for my M.F.A. or perhaps pursue as associates degree in photography from the community college. The discipline of attendance to classes will keep me on track whereas left to my own devices well I wander (and often not in a progressive direction). But I am responding to my callings and missing as little as possible.

I don’t want to say “I missed my calling, I should’ve, why didn’t I?…” Rather I am learning to say “no” and perhaps even harder to say “YES” to those things I do wish to pursue.

Where was I? ah the block prints, they are going to be stamped into some clay at the studio this week in preparation for decorative tiles. (I’ll take a photograph of them later or of the finished product).

Now before it gets too humid, oh it may already be but regardless she walks the dogs, she gathers her gym clothes for the gym, she returns to eat lunch…three classes this afternoon.

The work resumes, the day is calling, my head is full of beautiful music sung by lovely women – time to slowly go, ease into my day.

Hope yours is equally peaceful-
janet

One Response to “Sunday rambles…”

  1. Finding peace in a storm. Hmm… good name for a painting. Ah! The linoleum blocks are to make stamps into clay. Great idea. I’m looking forward to see the finished tiles.

Leave a Reply

