Be the change.

“If there is to be peace in the world, the nations must live in peace. If there is to be peace among nations, the cities must not rise up against each other. If there is to be peace in the cities, neighbors must understand each other. If there is to be peace among neighbors, there must be harmony in the home. If there is to be peace in the home, we must each find our own heart.” – Lao Tsu

Kathy Freston’s book “Quantum Wellness” arrived yesterday and I finished it up last night. It’s an excellent book and a quick read. She does speak at length about the positive benefits of a vegan diet and at length about the cruelties of eating meat or wearing animal products – so if that’s offensive material be forewarned. As I have been moving towards a more vegetarian diet for years it wasn’t disturbing for me.

And it’s an integrative book meaning she is talking about body, mind and spirit not simply diet…it isn’t a diet book at all. She expounds on what she sees as “The Eight Pillars Of Wellness”.

1. meditation
2. visualization
3. fun activities
4. conscious eating
5. exercise
6. self-work
7. spiritual practice
8. service

I especially like what she had to say about fear.

“If things are falling apart, assume grace and wisdom are on the way, and keep looking for what the experience is trying to teach you. It will be revealed.

Try this:
Anytime you find yourself gripped with fear, remember:

F-focus on your breathing.
E-explore all the possibilities and make peace with them.
A-ask for spiritual assistance.
R-resolve to take all the pertinent steps.

The book is well written and organized, some of the analogies are quite cliche’, for example “imagine you are a ripple in the pond” but it’s easy to ignore that.

If you think you’d like to read this book – let me know. I have literally a brand new, read once copy and I’d be happy to sell it to you. (I am striving to accumulate less).

And I am going vegetarian for the next week and from there we’ll see how it goes but I am not giving up black leather boots. Sorry I am too queer for that.

Two classes this morning = I have lost the next six Saturdays of my summer. It’s good the classes filled though, the center is happy, class enrollment has doubled each semester. I am replacing what I refer to as a “jerk ’em, sock ’em, kick ’em” trainer and the community is glad they now have someone who utilizes humane methods that don’t involve lifting the dogs up by their ears and is really teaching a class the whole family can attend.

I am surrounded by dogs ready for a walkie and prepared canvases, newly carved stamps and half completed paintings — I would much rather stay here and continue to play. Really delighted that just a few changes have opened up all of these creative channels and energy in my life.

Find peace, enjoy your weekend-
janet

3 Responses to “Be the change.”

  1. I like the FEAR reasoning. I tend to stay away from books like these because I always feel so overwhelmed by what I need to do. But, it does sound as if you really loved this one…

    I have found visualization to be an astounding tool in my life. I never believed much in it until I tried it.

  2. I always find something to enlighten me in your posts. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Thank you CJ and thanks for visiting.
    -Janet

Leave a Reply

