Goodbye Youth, Melissa Ferrick

Of course I am beyond thrilled that Melissa is releasing a new album – with so many of the great new songs she’s been playing. It’s really nice of her to start the tour on my birthday September 10th. But just to clarify it’s not goodbye to my youth, as I am still younger then Madonna & Michael Jackson. Besides I shall forever remain hideously immature. But enough on that.

This arrived via her newsletter to my e-mail box…

“Goodbye Youth” Melissa’s ninth studio album hits the streets on September 16 (Right On Records). Laid down in a single day during her near-constant tour schedule, “Goodbye Youth” marks a departure from the music she wrote and arranged with a team of accomplished musicians on her previous effort. It is perhaps her most intimate, stripped-down album to date. Melissa channeled her rock spirit into a fresh acoustic idiom with the assistance of engineer Scott Norton.”

Goodbye Youth is available at iTunes September 16, 2008
and on her tour that starts at the Bowery Ballroom in New York on September 10, 2008.

Ms. Melissa Ferrick will be in MICHIGAN playing two engagements…

Thursday October 23, 2008 at the Intersection in Grand Rapids
Friday October 24, 208 at The Ark in Ann Arbor

And I’ll see you there! I have not been to the Intersection yet but The Ark is just a terrific place to see a concert and Ann Arbor is uberCool and fun.

She has some cuts of her new songs up on her My Space page – go give Hypocrite & John’s Field a listen. You can also catch her fall tour schedule there.

4 Responses to “Goodbye Youth, Melissa Ferrick”

  1. IndigoSunMoon Says:

    I absolutely love her. I hope to see her in concert someday. And gosh, I wish the Indigo Girls would come down this way again soon. I need an Indie fix something awful!
    Connie

  2. She is the very best — and terrific in concert, all of her passion comes through. Spontaneous improvisation one is really seeing an artist at work.

    Do you have her albums …”+1″ or “Brooklin…” or my absolute favorite “70 people at 7,000 feet”?! – that gives one an idea of what a Ferrick concert is like.

    I find it’s like mainlining pure adrenaline.

    Thanks for visiting Connie-
    Janet

  3. I just had a good friend move from Ann Arbor to Brooklyn, so now I have no place to stay in Michigan…

    Oh, well…

  4. Oh Maria — I’d let you stay here but of course Melissa will be here.

    Next time.

    Janet

Leave a comment