Signal dropped and making connection (or not)…

Terry Tempest Williams new book “Finding Beauty In A Broken World” arrived yesterday — I’m already consuming it voraciously and quoting it often. Early on I found these words…

“A mosaic is a conversation between what is broken”.

Lovely – yes! It’s why I read all of her published writing…often. She is a master of the creative non-fiction genre. One can learn more about her here.

I’ve been thinking about connections a lot lately and why it’s so hard to make them. We live in a time with more ways of being in touch with one another then ever before – phone, cell phones, mail, e-mail…social networking sites like Facebook, My Space. We can chat, or iChat, or video chat and yet we are on my levels more isolated from one another than ever before.

As we age we seem to throw up walls and obstacles rather than to reach out and make connections Rumi wrote…

“Your task is not to seek love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.”

And I go forward quizzically unable to repair these broken connections and reminding myself the lesson of acceptance.

I can say “YES” can you?

Leave a Reply

