Morning Poem

I guess I have been depressed – yes I have. Worried about the economy and my lack of a more rich personal life. Despite having a really great September …I feel like I am a hiccup away from bankruptcy. It’s all so terrifying.

Spending so much time, getting my hopes up thinking I was making an important connection with someone and ultimately it failing. How selfish she was on so many levels and how someone can not find it in themselves to apologize, to be responsible for their behavior and its affect on others.

Depressed. I even started to cry (a rare event for me, tears of self pity) and yet when I walked outside yesterday – it was so, so, so beautiful. The sky was the most delicious shade of blue, the quality of the light was amazing…the fall colors, the warm air.

Beautiful – the world is so beautiful. The river flows, the birds fly…a frog rests on a rock in the sunshine. They don’t care about elections, or Wall street or whether or not they’ll have a date again.

They just are …I want to just be, most of the time I am just that – just being. But a few tears found their way out of me …it was brief, literally just a few, then the day gave me a-

Great big glorious hug! Abundant universe…I choose yes, I choose to be happy, I choose to just be.

A lovely poem from Mary Oliver.

Love-
Janet

Morning Poem by Mary Oliver

Every morning
the world
is created.
Under the orange

sticks of the sun
the heaped
ashes of the night
turn into leaves again

and fasten themselves to the high branches —
and the ponds appear
like black cloth
on which are painted islands

of summer lilies.
If it is your nature
to be happy
you will swim away along the soft trails

for hours, your imagination
alighting everywhere.
And if your spirit
carries within it

the thorn
that is heavier than lead —
if it’s all you can do
to keep on trudging —

there is still
somewhere deep within you
a beast shouting that the earth
is exactly what it wanted —

each pond with its blazing lilies
is a prayer heard and answered
lavishly,
every morning,

whether or not
you have ever dared to be happy,
whether or not
you have ever dared to pray.

from Dream Work (1986) by Mary Oliver
© Mary Oliver

5 Responses to “Morning Poem”

  1. Grumpy Granny Says:

    I LOVE Mary Oliver’s work. Thank you for sharing this. I also recently discovered Pattianne Rogers via another blog friend. This will take your breath away:

    “The Creation of the Inaudible
    by Pattiann Rogers

    Maybe no one can distinguish which voice
    Is god’s voice sounding in a summer dusk
    Because he calls with the same rising frequency,
    The same rasp and rattling rustle the cicadas use
    As they cling to the high leaves in the glowing
    Dust of the oaks.

    His exclamations might blend so precisely with the final
    Crises of the swallows settling before dark
    That no one will ever be able to say with certainty,
    ”That last long cry winging over the rooftop
    Came from god.“

    Breathy and low, the vibrations of his nightly
    Incantations could easily be masked by the scarcely
    Audible hush of the lakeline dealing with the rocky shore,
    And when a thousand dry sheaths of rushes and thistles
    Stiffen and shiver in an autumn wind, anyone can imagine
    How quickly and irretrievably his whisper might be lost.

    Someone faraway must be saying right now:
    The only unique sound of his being
    Is the spoken postulation of his unheard presence.

    For even if he found the perfect chant this morning
    And even if he played the perfect strings to accompany it,
    Still, no one could be expected to know,
    Because the blind click beetle flipping in midair,
    And the slider turtle easing through the black iris bog,
    And two savannah pines shedding dawn in staccato pieces
    Of falling sun are already engaged in performing
    The very same arrangement themselves.”

  2. Arial Ray Says:

    If I could just be…there’s been too much sadness in my life of late. But my time outside, on my walks, in my garden, is helping me to heal. I hope the universe can help you breathe through these stressful days.

  3. If I were 500 miles closer, I would be bringing you chocolate.

    Nothing wrong with a pity party now and again, especially when you can balance it with such an appreciation of creation.

    Many, many cyber hugs coming with this comment {{{ }}}

  4. This is a tough time. Lots of crazy things going on in the world. Good for you for seeing the positive and beautiful things. Hang in there Janet. You’re a cool lady with a great way of looking at the world. I can only picture good things coming your way.

  5. Thanks all! It is a test of our mindfulness, spirituality, practive – if we can be mindful, grateful, peaceful in times like we are experiencing. To be happy when it’s so easy to panic and be miserable.

    I love, love the poem and all of you for stopping by and reading my blog.

    peace-
    janet

Leave a Reply

