Holding On…


There are things we hold onto…
hope,
love,
dreams.

I remember a day
in a kitchen
we were watching friend’s children for the day.

You
came downstairs with a little girl in your arms
a towel over the other shoulder.

How you held her
in your arms
the light hitting your hair
that was tossled
from an afternoon
of playing fort with her brother.

I thought
how
absolutely
and perfectly
beautiful.

How
perfectly beautiful you are,
I could live forever
and not have enough time
to watch you,
to feel like this.
So connected,
so present
to a moment,
so perfectly lovely in every way.

I hold on
to a hope
to a hope
that wherever your life takes you,
you feel
that wonderful moment
you gave me-

over,
and over,
and over,
again.

I hold onto the hope that you are happy.
As grateful
as I feel everyday.

Holding on
with absolute trust
that this life
is fleeting
and precious
and so beautiful it’s an agony we can hardly endure
and yet we do.

I hold on only to the wish that you are happy.

One Response to “Holding On…”

  1. how perfect the words…

    C

Leave a Reply

