Say What You Mean

I saw this poem last night on my friend Patti Digh’s Blog – she has written a wonderful book titled “37 Days” and her blog is here.  I love the poem & I went to bed with the sense of peacefulness it filled me with.  So lovely.  To write about a human feeling so simply and yet with such eloquence.

I Confess

I stalked her
in the grocery store: her crown
of snowy braids held in place by a great silver clip,
her erect bearing, radiating tenderness,
watching
the way she placed yogurt and avocados in her  basket,
beaming peace like the North Star.
I wanted to ask, “What aisle did you find
your serenity in, do you know
how to be married for fifty years or how to live alone,
excuse me for interrupting, but you seem to possess
some knowledge that makes the earth turn and burn on its axis—“
But we don’t request such things from strangers
nowadays. So I said, “I love your hair.”

-Alison Luterman

If I said what I mean I would say…

thank you. i love you. forever grateful for every moment and memory. i hold onto the hope that someday we can sit and talk to one another again. but regardless  always.  love. always love.

Is there something you forgot to say? Want to say?  Need to say…maybe you should start with “I love your hair”…

Off to walk six dogs (help me, help me) two are staying for the weekend because I needed more and it’s easy money.  Then I am off for a gathering of queer women that get together for coffee, a much needed trip to the gym.  I am really enjoying this weekend of selfish agenda – and it’s even time to dust off the road bike and play Lance Armstrong.  Enjoy your weeeknd all.

3 Responses to “Say What You Mean”

  1. Amazing poem. Like breathing fresh air–a sigh of understanding after a day’s work. 🙂

  2. I love your hair… but how can you articulate that sort of complex sentiment to a stranger in the grocery store?

    Say what you mean. A good practice. One I *should* work on with my girlfriend. I tend to keep stuff to myself. Sometimes she asks, other times not. I don’t share the deeply personal as often as I could.

    Hmm… food for thought. Thanks!

  3. I love that poem too. Very cool.

    Sounds like you had a nice weekend planned. Six dogs? I want to see a pic of you walking six dogs. I have enough trouble with two that only weigh 5 pounds each.

Leave a Reply

