Quiet phase…

Just going through a quiet phase on many levels – feel big (and not so big) internal shifts, feel peaceful.  I have been changing my diet pretty dramatically (trying to go vegetarian, or mostly so) and exercising a lot.  If any free time pops up I am doing something creative or touching base on Facebook.  I do read a lot of blogs and am looking at a lot of art lately.

Still impatiently waiting on the kiln and looking really forward to it.  It’s rainy and cool in Michigan today.

The new things I have been working on are here.

And since I don’t seem to be doing much writing – let’s have a rerun.  I wrote this in response to the first woman I slept with – not an experience worth being nostalgic about on any level but it did inspire this poem.

The river of my memories carry me ever forward.

But still I ask-
will I
ever learn
to live in the moment,

l  o  n  g      e   r

than I do
with
these memories.

The river
of my life
flows
forward.

In
and out,
along,
besides,
through,
over, over, ever over.

Memories.

Banks of my soul have been acted upon.

Softened,
revealed,
concealed,
shifted.
shores of
your affects.

Here and there
in
these places
still
discovering still,
that I have not found yet today.

I reach for
the smoothing, soothing
c u    rv  e
of your hip

but the moment
holds
only the chill
of loss,
of remembrances,
and reverence for
a love of gentle places.

j.smith

3 Responses to “Quiet phase…”

  1. Quiet phases can do so much healing. Take your time with it.

  2. go with it……

    BB

    X

  3. Beautiful poem J. Sounds like a time of discovery for you here. Hope all is well and that you are enjoying the peacefulness of it all.

Leave a Reply

